Criminal Division


The criminal division of the Morgan County Prosecutor’s Office handles the prosecution of criminal offenses and traffic violations that occur in Morgan County. Our criminal division works closely with the Martinsville Police Department, Mooresville Police Department, Morgan County Sheriff’s Department, Morgantown Police Department, Paragon Police Department, Monrovia Police Department, Brooklyn Police Department, DNR and the Indiana State Police. The criminal division receives and reviews reports of violations of the Indiana Criminal Code from each of the aforementioned agencies to determine if charges will be filed.

Criminal Division Staff

Steve Sonnega – Prosecutor

Cassie Mellady Starnes – Chief Deputy Prosecutor
Crimes against children

Harold Blake – Deputy Prosecutor
Secretary: Tina Broyer
Superior Court 1 and Adult Protective Services Cases

Lou Ransdell – Deputy Prosecutor
Secretary: Tina Broyer
Superior Court 2 (Even number cases)

Michelle Armstrong – Deputy Prosecutor
Domestic Violence Cases and Adult Sexual Assault Cases

Alyssa Borchak – Deputy Prosecutor
Secretary: Jessica Beaman / Jan Neace
Superior Court 3 Cases / Mooresville Town Court

Lisa Kempf – Deputy Prosecutor
Secretary: Jodie Law / Tina Broyer
Circuit Court and Superior Court 2 (odd number cases)

Daniel Vaughn – Deputy Prosecutor
Secretary: Tina Broyer
Superior Court 1

Marlene Tyler Black – Victim Advocate

Brian Chambers – Investigator

Jan Neace – Receptionist, Deferral/Diversion Coordinator, Check Deception

Kelly Phillips – Research

Jodie Law – Payroll / Budget / Claims